Concealed Carry Image

How to Get Your NC Concealed Handgun Permit

In North Carolina, a concealed handgun permit is required in order to carry a concealed handgun. The process for obtaining the concealed handgun permit can look daunting at first, but it’s actually pretty straightforward. At Carolina Gunrunners, we’re here to help you through the process:

Step 1: Make Sure You are Eligible:

The first step in the process for obtaining your NC concealed handgun permit is to make sure that you are eligible for obtaining a permit. The NC State Legislature has outlined a specific set of guidelines for who is and who is not eligible for obtaining a permit in NCGS 14-415.12. We’ve put together a basic summary of the requirements below:

(1)        The applicant is a citizen of the United States and has been a resident of the State 30 days or longer immediately preceding the filing of the application.

(2)        The applicant is 21 years of age or older.

(3)        The applicant does not suffer from a physical or mental infirmity that prevents the safe handling of a handgun.

(4)        The applicant has successfully completed an approved firearms safety and training course which involves the actual firing of handguns and instruction in the laws of this State governing the carrying of a concealed handgun and the use of deadly force.

There is also a specific set of circumstances in the law which requires a Sheriff to deny a permit to an applicant. Again, we’ve summarized the dis-qualifiers below:

(1)        Is ineligible to own, possess, or receive a firearm under the provisions of State or federal law.

(2)        Is under indictment or against whom a finding of probable cause exists for a felony.

(3)        Has been adjudicated guilty in any court of a felony (except for a couple of specific felonies outlined in the law)

(4)        Is a fugitive from justice.

(5)        Is an unlawful user of, or addicted to marijuana, alcohol, or any depressant, stimulant, or narcotic drug, or any other controlled substance

(6)        Is currently, or has been previously adjudicated by a court or administratively determined by a governmental agency whose decisions are subject to judicial review to be, lacking mental capacity or mentally ill.

(7)        Is or has been discharged from the Armed Forces of the United States under conditions other than honorable.

(8)        Is or has been adjudicated guilty of or received a prayer for judgment continued or suspended sentence for a number of specific crimes outlined in the law.

(9)        Has had entry of a prayer for judgment continued for a criminal offense which would disqualify the person from obtaining a concealed handgun permit.

(10)      Is free on bond or personal recognizance pending trial, appeal, or sentencing for a crime which would disqualify him from obtaining a concealed handgun permit.

(11)      Has been convicted of an impaired driving offense under a specific set of laws within the previous 3 years.

Step 2: Sign up for (and complete) a Concealed Handgun Permit Class:

For a class to qualify as the required training for a North Carolina concealed handgun permit it must cover a specific set of subjects regarding gun safety, deadly force, and the concealed carry law. The class must also have a live fire portion where students are required to fire a number of rounds and demonstrate their ability to safely use a handgun.

At Carolina Gunrunners, we offer classes that fulfill all of these requirements. If you are interested in signing up for a class, please stop by the store and let us know. We generally offer classes twice per month in our classroom at the store and do the shooting at our private range.

Step 3: Apply for your Permit with your County Sheriff:

After completing the concealed handgun permit class you will receive a certificate of completion. You will need to take your certificate with you when applying for the permit. Some counties allow you to apply for the permit online, others require you to appear in person at the Sheriff’s department during general business hours, and yet others require you to schedule an appointment. A quick phone call to the Sheriff’s office in the county where you live will let you exactly what is required in your county.

When you apply for the permit, there will be a non-refundable fee, you will be fingerprinted, you will fill out an application, and there may be some additional paperwork for releases for mental health records or other things. Check with your county Sheriff’s office in advance to make sure you are bringing all of the required documentation so you don’t end up making multiple trips.

If you live in Wake county you can apply here http://www.wakegov.com/sheriff/Pages/default.aspx

Step 4: Wait

After taking the class and applying for the permit, you may have to wait a while for your permit to be issued. NCGS 14-415.15 requires the Sheriff to issue or deny the permit within 45 days after they receive all of the required documentation for the permit. Some Sheriff’s define this as 45 days from the date that you apply for the permit and others define it as 45 days from the time that they hear back from any inquiries they make regarding mental health records or other things.

While waiting for your permit to arrive, it’s a great time to stop by our store and check out the selection of concealed carry pistols and holsters so you are ready to go when the permit arrives!

Depending on the county where you live, you may receive your permit in the mail or you may receive a phone call telling you to go pick up your permit from the Sheriff’s office if your application is appoved.

If you have any questions you can give us a call at (919) 803-4605 or email us at info@carolinagunrunners.com.

 

 

Facebook Comments

Tell Us What You Think!